EuroSafe Imaging Steering Committee

The EuroSafe Imaging campaign is an initiative whose activities are led by a Steering Committee composed of stakeholder representatives. The Steering Committee is charged with planning, coordinating and overseeing the implementation of the various EuroSafe Imaging activities, which include coordinating communication and outreach, developing safety criteria, hosting radiation protection sessions, organising training and education activities, as well as ensuring that these activites complement other ESR projects and initiatives.

The Steering Committee’s composition of delegates from the ESR, subspecialty societies, related medical professions, patient groups, and industry, along with observers from the European Commission and the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP Committee 3), will ensure a multidisciplinary and holistic approach to radiation protection. The chair of the Steering Committee is a member of the ESR Radiation Protection Subcommittee.

The members of the EuroSafe Imaging Steering Committee (2023-2024) are:



Chair: Boris Brkljacic, ESR
Past-Chair: Guy Frija, ESR
ex-officio Member: Christian Loewe, ESR, Chair National Societies Committee
ex-officio Member: Núria Bargalló Alabart, ESR Chair Subspecialties and Allied Sciences Committee
ex-officio Member: Emanuele Neri, ESR, Chair Quality, Safety and Standards Committee
ex-officio Member: Roman Klöckner, ESR, Chair Audit and Standards Subcommittee
Member: Christoph Hoeschen, Chair, Strategies for Image Quality of the Future WG
Member: Reinhard Loose, Chair, Dose Management and Dosimetry WG
Member: Graciano Paulo, Co-Chair, Educational Activities WG
Member: Deniz Akata, Co-Chair, Educational Activities WG
Member: Claudio Granata, ESPR, Chair, Paediatric Imaging WG
Member: John Damilakis, Chair, Clincal DRLs WG
Member: Jacob Sosna, Chair, ESR iGuide Implementation and Promotion WG
Member: Franz Kainberger, Chair, EuroSafe Imaging Stars
Member: Lucie Súkupová, EFOMP
Member: Peter Reimer, CIRSE
Member: Jonathan McNulty, EFRS
Member: Steve Ebdon-Jackson, ESR-PAG (Patient Representative)
Observer: Georgi Simeonov, European Commission
Observer: TBA, IAEA


EuroSafe Imaging Working Groups
Since 2015, EuroSafe Imaging has established a number of different working groups to support the implementation of its activities, the Call for Action and several other relevant ESR projects. For more information on EuroSafe Imaging’s working groups, please click here.