The following ESR, EANM, and ESTRO experts are involved in the project and make up the project Executive Board (EB):

  • Prof David Howlett (Project Manager, Radiologist)
  • Dr Adrian Brady (Project Co-Manager, Radiologist)
  • Prof Boris Brkljacic (Diagnostic Radiologist)
  • Prof Werner Jaschke (Interventional Radiologist)
  • Prof Jörg Hausleiter (Interventional Cardiologist)
  • Mr Steve Ebdon-Jackson (Health Policy Expert / Health Economist)
  • Dr Marie-Louise Ryan (Radiographer – Diagnostic Imaging)
  • Ms Ana Geão (Radiographer – Nuclear Medicine)
  • Dr Gianfranco Brusadin (Radiographer – Radiotherapy)
  • Dr Harry Delis (Medical Physicist – Diagnostic Imaging)
  • Dr Manuel Bardies (Medical Physicist – Nuclear Medicine)
  • Dr Efi Koutsouveli (Medical Physicist – Radiotherapy)
  • Dr Francesco Giammarile (Nuclear Medicine Physician)
  • Dr Wolfgang Wadsak (Radiopharmacist)
  • Prof Michael Brada (Radiotherapy and Brachytherapy Expert)*
  • Prof Nuría Jornet (Medical Physicist – Radiotherapy)
  • Dr Primož Strojan (Radiotherapy Expert)
  • Dr Mary Coffey (Radiotherapy Expert)
  • ESR Office Team: Ms Monika Hierath, Mr Jonathan Clark

*Prof M. Brada stepped down from the consortium in July 2021.

A Steering Group (SG) consisting of representatives from Radiation protection authorities, National health authorities, and experts with proven experience in clinical audit of radiology, nuclear medicine and radiotherapy, has been set up and will provide guidance and feedback on the overall work plan and results. The members of the Steering Group will be consulted on the methodology and results of the work and their views will be sought on all aspects of the project, in particular project deliverables. The members of the Steering Group are:

  • Ms Alexandra Karoussou-Schreiner (HERCA (chairs HERCA WGMA (working group medical applications)))
  • Ms Ritva Bly (Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority of Finland)
  • Dr Petr Papirnik (Czech State Office for Nuclear Safety)
  • Ms Hanne Waltenburg (Deputy Director, Danish Health Authority, Radiation Protection)
  • Mr Nils Reynders-Frederix (Belgian Federal Public Service for Public Health)
  • Dr Carine Galli Marxer (Swiss Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP (BAG))
  • Prof Danny Keenan (Medical Director of the Health and Quality Improvement Partnership, UK)
  • Dr Raija Seuri (Clinical Audit expert in Radiology)
  • Dr Anna Plachcinska (Clinical Audit expert in Nuclear Medicine)

In addition, an Advisory Board (AB) has been established to provide an internal advisory structure representing professional organisations and international organisations not part of the core consortium team. The Advisory Board will also be asked to provide input on all aspects of the project, in particular project deliverables. The members of the Advisory Board are:

  • Prof Guy Frija (EuroSafe Imaging Chair)
  • Prof Debbie van der Merwe (The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA))
  • Ms Rachael Ward (The Heads of the European Radiological Protection Competent Authorities (HERCA))
  • Mr Vasilis Syrgiamiotis (The European Federation of Radiographer Societies (EFRS))
  • Prof Paddy Gilligan (The European Federation of Organisations for Medical Physics (EFOMP))
  • Dr Gabriel Bartal (The Cardiovascular and Interventional Radiological Society of Europe (CIRSE))
  • Prof Alessia Gimelli (The European Society of Cardiology (ESC))
  • Dr Maria Perez (The World Health Organisation (WHO))
  • Prof Antony Gee (Society of Radiopharmaceutical Sciences (SRS))
  • Prof Wim Oyen (European Cancer Organisation (ECCO))
  • Dr Erik Briers (ESR-Patients‘ Advisory Group (ESR-PAG))


Figure 1: Organisational Structure of the QuADRANT project